About the WAFL

The West Australian Football League (WAFL) is an Australian football league based in Perth, Western Australia, founded in 1885.

The current naming rights partner of the WAFL is telecommunications company Optus and the competition is officially known as the Optus WAFL Premiership Season.

The league currently consists of 10 teams – Claremont, East Fremantle, East Perth, Peel Thunder, Perth, South Fremantle, Subiaco, Swan Districts, West Coast and West Perth.

The teams play each other in a 20-round season from April to September, with the top five teams playing off in a finals series, culminating in a Grand Final.

The WAFL also includes Reserves and Simply Energy Colts (under-19) competitions with nine teams each, and a WAFL Women’s competition with five teams.

The WAFL is governed by the West Australian Football Commission (WAFC), which is the caretaker of football throughout the State and is responsible for the overall development of the game.

Contact details:
West Australian Football Commission
Phone: (08)9381 5599
Email: reception@wafc.com.au
Web: www.wafootball.com.au
Post: PO Box 275, Subiaco WA 6904